Current Members


2017 Board Photo


Woodland Park Zoo President and CEO

Alejandro Grajal


Board Officers


Anders Brown
Managing Director

Vice Chair

Irwin Goverman
Community Member


Katie Matison
Lane Powell PC


Mike Ronan
Principal Partner
Ernst & Young LLP (EY)


Board Members

Linda Allen
The Alleniana Foundation

Vikram Baskaran
VP of Technology
Alaska Airlines

Chisti Beckley
Executive Director
Phinney Neighborhood Association

Andy Bench
Wright Runstad & Company

Dori Borjesson
Dean, WSU
College of Veterinary Medicine

Stacey Campbell
Community Volunteer

Kristi Dansereau
Senior Vice President
US Bank

Adjua Dupree
Senior Manager

Angela Griffin
Chief Executive Officer
Byrd Barr Place

Rosemarie Havranek

Marlon Dylan Herrera
Deputy Construction Manager
Sound Transit

Cathy Herzig
Wildlife Conservationist & Retired Zookeeper

Holly Hirai
Community Member

Jonathan Kil
Sound Pharmaceuticals

Jeanne Kohl-Welles
Former King County Councilmember and Washington State Senator

Jackie Kopson
Senior Commercial Relationship Manager
The Commerce Bank of Washington

Jeff Leppo
Community Volunteer

Shelley McKinley
Vice President
Chief Legal Officer

Lian Neeman
Director, Global Benefits

Larry Phillips
Community Volunteer

Robert Plotnick
Professor Emeritus
The Evans School, University of Washington

Nate Porter
Director, Financial Services
West Monroe Partners

Dave Raney
EVP | Chief Banking Officer
Sound Community Bank

Sue Roberts
Community Member

Kyle Rolfe
Associate Principal
Seneca Group

Diane Shrewsbury
Community Member

Sandy Stelling
Community Member

Effie Toshav
Fenwick & West LLP

Justin Umagat
Strategic Planning Manager
King County Metro

Jill Walker
Director, Enterprise Risk Management

Alison Winfield
Operations Manager
UW Haring Center

Joe Woods
Managing Partner
Pacific Public Affairs

Jeni Elam
Vice President, Consulting
Columbia Hospitality


Ex-Officio Members

Jorge Barón
King County

AP Diaz
Seattle Parks & Recreation

Alejandro Grajal
President & CEO
Woodland Park Zoo

Joy Hollingsworth
Seattle City

Directors Emeriti

Rick Alvord
Maria Barrientos
Warren Brown
Kathie Claypool
Kenneth W. Eakes
David Goldberg
Joshua Green III
Jan Hendrickson
Deb Horvath
Carol Hosford
B. Gerald Johnson
Victoria Leslie
Bill Lewis
Robert Liddell, MD
James McGraw
Charles Morse
Phil Nudelman
Mary Odermat
John Oppenheimer
Nancy Pellegrino
Cam Ragen
Matt Rosauer
Kevin Schofield
Rob Short
Bryan Slinker
Dale Sperling
Laurie Stewart
Ethan Stowell
R. Jay Tejera
Dave Towne
Janet True
Maggie Walker
Margie Wetherald
Kathy Williams
Stuart Williams
Sally Wright
Susie Wyckoff
Sheila Wyckoff-Dickey





2024 Meeting Schedule

January 9
March 26
May 28
August 13
December 10

All meetings are 4:00 - 6:30 p.m. and held in the Center for Wildlife Conservation (CWC) unless otherwise noted.



For all Board of Director contact or questions, please email Sara Basque, Board Coordinator, at

The Woodland Park Zoo Board is a large body and space in our board room is limited. In order that we may ensure we are able to accommodate space and any special needs, all individuals intending to attend a board meeting, whether to present public comment or not, must contact The Board Coordinator (Sara Basque a a minimum of 24 hours prior to the meeting. In addition, please be aware that meetings may not be recorded and meeting materials may not be copied or photographed. For this reason, we are unable to provide for virtual attendance by members of the public at board meetings.

Our Mission

Woodland Park Zoo saves wildlife and inspires everyone to make conservation a priority in their lives.

Land Acknowledgment

Woodland Park Zoo recognizes that these are the lands of the Tribal signatories of the Treaty of Point Elliott. We acknowledge their stewardship of this place continues to this day and that it is our responsibility to join them to restore the relationship with the living world around us.

5500 Phinney Ave. N., Seattle, WA 98103   |  206.548.2500  |

Association of Zoos & Aquariums
Seattle Parks & Recreation
Humane Certification